The Buddha – “thus gone” – “arrived at suchness (reality beyond definition)” – “thus in being”

tatha – truth; reality; being
gata – gone; rooted in



Literally, “basis of work” or “place of work.” The term is most often used specifically to identify the Thai Forest Tradition, that is, the forest tradition lineage founded by Phra Ajaans Mun and Sao. For an introduction to the history of the Kammatthana Tradition, see the essay “The Customs of the Noble Ones,” by Thanissaro Bhikkhu. PDF – https://www.dhammatalks.org/Archive/Writings/CrossIndexed/Uncollected/MiscEssays/The%20Customs%20of%20the%20Noble%20Ones.pdf


“The Buddha spoke of two kinds of desire: desire that arises from ignorance and delusion, which is called tanha, craving, and desire that arises from wisdom and intelligence, which is called kusala-chanda, or dhamma-chanda, or most simply chanda.” — Ajahan Jayasaro, https://www.lionsroar.com/just-do-it/


“Wise” just means “skillful” — things that work. Like — wise effort, concentration, and mindfulness when crossing the street means, look both ways, watch for cars, keep alert for unexpected events.



Thai tudong


a group of thirteen austerities or ascetic practices most commonly observed by the practitioners of the Thai Forest Tradition of Theravada Buddhism. While the Buddha did not require these practices, they were recommended for those wanting to practice greater asceticism.


Walking meditation, usually in the form of walking back and forth along a prescribed path.

mae chee

“nun”. In Thailand nuns are often just called “Mae Chee” and their names are not used.


“teacher”. A teacher may or may not be a monk.


Means “monk”. Used as a title, is similar to the English ‘Venerable’ (‘Ven.’).


A mound-like or hemispherical structure containing relics (typically the remains of monks or nuns) nad used as a place of meditation.

A related architectural term is a chaitya, which is a prayer hall or temple containing a stupa.

( th: chedi เจดีย์ , stupa สถูป | pi: thūpa, cetiya | sa: stupa स्तूप | bo: chor ten མཆོད་རྟེན་ | ja: sharitō 舎利塔 | zh: shèlìtǎ 舍利塔 )
(The english word “pagoda” means more like a structure that can be entered, and which may be secular in purpose.)