The Principles

The philosophy of Buddhism can become very complicated — our monkey minds love to dance with complications! But the basic principles are simple:

The Four Noble Truths

  1. dukkha — Life is challenging.
  2. cause The cause of suffering is the mind’s struggle in response to challenge.
  3. cessation The end of suffering — a non-struggling, peaceful mind — is possible.
  4. the way The program for ending suffering is the Eightfold Path.

more: at

The Eightfold Path

  1. Wise Understanding: realizing the cause of suffering.
  2. Wise Intention: motivation to end suffering
  3. Wise Speech: speaking in a way that cultivates clarity
  4. Wise Action: behaving in ways that maintain clarity
  5. Wise Livelihood: supporting oneself in a wholesome way
  6. Wise Effort: cultivating skillful (peaceful) mind habits
  7. Wise Concentration: cultivating a steady, focused, ease-filled mind
  8. Wise Mindfulness: cultivating alert, balanced attention
  9. “Wise” just means “skillful” — things that work. Like, wise effort, concentration, and mindfulness when crossing the street means, look both ways, watch for cars, keep alert for unexpected events.

    page revised: 6 August 2018

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.